This is in continuation of my previous post: PUN IN VEDIC MATHS. First of all, I would like to thank all the readers for showing their interest in this subject.

I got to know some details abt the post through an email written to Mr Gaurav Tekriwal by Mr Rajagopalan Iyengar, and which he forwarded to me. I had made a factual error in the post and it was that I had mentioned the sloka as Anustub Sutra; however, it is not so. The sloka is in Anustub meter where Anushtub metre means each quarter of the sloka contains 8 devanagari letters. I apologize for the same. I seriously hope I was able to convey my feelings in the post in spite of this error.

Below, I m pasting the contents of the mail:

The verse or sloka quoted by you is found in Page 348 of Vedic Maths published by Motilal Banarsidas. It is stated in the page mentioned above that the sloka is in Anushtub metre. You have mentioned Anustab sutra. There is no such sutra. Anushtub metre means each quarter of the sloka contains 8 devanagari letters.
The first quarter of the sloka is gopibhagyamadhuvrata.The eight letters are (1)go we have to take ga (2) pee, we have to take pa (3) Bha, we have to take Bha next is g which is a half consonant, so we have to ignore it. (4)ya (5)ma (6) dha (7) next is vra, you ignore v which is pronounced as a half consonant. take ra. (8) ta.

The sloka contains 4 quarters or 32 letters. The of pi/10 is given for 32 decimal places.

However it is given [in] Alphabetical code language. We have to see what the code is. It is ka, ta, pa, ya dhi sankhya. This is a method of cryptic or code or cipher language which was used in Ancient India from the time of Brahmagupta, Bhaskara I, Bhaskara II who were mathematicians and astronomers. Sanskrit poets have also used these codes in their verses.

We know that Devanagari script consists of ka varga, that is ka, kha, ga, gha nga. next ca varga consists of ca, chcha ja jha. nja. similarly ta varga, tha varga, pa varga, After that ya, ra, la, va, ssa, sha, sa, ha.

ka=1 kha =2, ga=3 gha=4 nga =5 ca=-6 chcha =7, ja=8, jha,9 nja=0.
Similarly ta, tta, tha,ttha up tp na=0.
pa=1,ppha=2 ba=3, Bha=4, ma =5.
ya=1, ra=2, la=3 va=4, ssa=5, sha=6, sa=7, ha=8 .

Now go to the sloka and apply the key, ga=3, pee which is pavarga, so pa=1, next is bha which is the fourth letter in pa varga. so it is 4, g is to be ignored. ya=1, ma=5, dhu=dha=9 vra=ra=2 , tha=6. So the forst quarter is 3 1 4 1 5 9 2 6. You can verify the answer given on page 349 of the book.
Similarly you have to crack the code for remaining quarters of the sloka. You can find in page 202 of the book three more coded phrases .


This above mail aptly describes how to calculate the value of pi/10 to 32 places of decimal. All thanks to Mr Iyengar and Mr Gaurav for this.
However, if someone could please enlighten us with the self-contained master key in the sloka, which could be used to extend the value of pi/10 to any number of places after decimal, it would be great.

Manuj Keshari

Previous articleMergers 1
Next articleMergers 2
Gaurav Tekriwal is the founder President of the Vedic Maths Forum India. Through television programs, workshops, DVDs, and Books he has taken the Vedic Maths System to over 4 million students in India, South Africa, United States, Australia, UAE, Ghana, and Colombia.


  1. nice article! Actually katapayaadi sutra says "sankhyayoH vaamatogatihi" means after applaying katapayaadi sutra , you should read from unit place and onwards, but in BKT swamiji's sloka we do the reverse process! refer Bhaskara or Mahavira's texts. eg. Mahabharat is called as "JAYA" where YA is 1 and JA is 8 , and it clearly indicates 18 chapters of Mahabharata! . Please visit my blog: for more details.